Opinion

Letters to the editor.

Letter to the editor: ‘The hospice makes a huge difference’

‘There are no words to express the gratitude our whole family feels’

  • Apr 13, 2021
kkk

Budget opinion: Cutting advanced education funding will stunt central Alberta growth

RDC offers certificates, diplomas, degrees, apprenticeship and continuing education programs

  • Feb 24, 2021
John Hinds, CEO of News Media Canada (formerly Newspapers Canada) reads an email from PayPal at his office in Toronto on Friday, Feb. 10, 2017. Hinds called it “scary” after PayPal froze his organization’s payments account over a weekly newspaper story about a Syrian refugee family in Manitoba. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Colin Perkel

LETTER: It’s time for Canadian politicians to ‘level the digital playing field’ for news

‘Google and Facebook… control the onramp to the internet highway in Canada’

  • Feb 4, 2021
Email letters to letters@comoxvalleyrecord.com

LETTER: A few more thoughts about the Community Builders Project

‘Thanks so much again, and thanks to our great citizens for their interest.’

  • Jan 29, 2021
Email letters to letters@comoxvalleyrecord.com
Damien Kurek

COLUMN: Let’s talk about vaccines

‘The approval of several vaccines brings hope that we may soon see the end of the pandemic’

  • Jan 8, 2021
Damien Kurek
Damien Kurek

MP column: A year in review

‘We are a government in waiting that will represent the best of our nation, always fighting for the unity and prosperity of Canadians’

  • Dec 28, 2020
Damien Kurek
Mark Weber

Reflecting on the meanings of Christmas

Mark Weber reflects on what Christmas means to him

  • Dec 24, 2020
Mark Weber
Damien Kurek

Perspective in the Christmas season

‘May God bless you and may we all be reminded of the hope that comes from the birth of Jesus’

  • Dec 17, 2020
Damien Kurek
nate

Merry Christmas to the people of Drumheller-Stettler

‘Have the best Christmas possible, take care of each other and know better times are around the bend’

  • Dec 16, 2020
nate
Jock Finlayson, Executive Vice President and Chief Policy Officer of the Business Council of British Columbia (submitted)

FINLAYSON: The long economic tail of COVID-19

‘Fast forward to late 2020 and the situation has partially stabilized’

  • Dec 11, 2020
Jock Finlayson, Executive Vice President and Chief Policy Officer of the Business Council of British Columbia (submitted)
Nate

MLA column: Nate Horner discusses Municipal Stimulus Funding

‘Investing in our communities will pay off in the future while getting our economy back on track.’

  • Dec 9, 2020
Nate
Jason Nixon
Jason Nixon
me

On not hitting the ‘pause’ button in the rough times

‘Life is not coming to me ‘in pieces’; it’s unfolding regardless of the emotional rollercoaster of a given day or week’

  • Dec 3, 2020
me
Damien Kurek

Liberal hyper-spending in focus as debt hits record

Canada’s debt is set to rise over $1 trillion this year, with the deficit reaching nearly $400 billion this fiscal year

  • Dec 3, 2020
Damien Kurek
Aaron Wudrick

Freeland looks to take the federal debt to infinity and beyond

The fall economic statement should worry anyone concerned with Canada’s long-term economic future

  • Dec 1, 2020
Aaron Wudrick
Damien Kurek

COLUMN: MP Damien Kurek on ‘Christmas on the horizon’

Consider making a donation to one of the many local charities, food banks and churches

  • Nov 20, 2020
Damien Kurek
Kurek

Letter: ‘Help should only be 3-digits away’

‘As your Member of Parliament, I have heard many tragic stories of how suicide has impacted our communities’

  • Nov 17, 2020
Kurek
Editor of the Pipestone Flyer, Shaela Dansereau
Editor of the Pipestone Flyer, Shaela Dansereau
Damien Kurek

COLUMN: We will remember them

In addition to wearing a poppy, consider making a contribution to your local Legion at www.legion.ca

  • Nov 6, 2020
Damien Kurek
Nate

COLUMN: MLA Nate Horner on the Assessment Model Review

The energy industry and municipalities have a mutually dependant relationship on each other’

  • Oct 28, 2020
Nate