Wildcats and Cougars wrap up 2010 football season

Happy with the achievement - William E. Hay’s Wildcat football team posed together for cameras at the end of an evening that made all players proud of their efforts throughout the 2010 season.

Wm. E Hay Wildcats and bantam Cougars wrapped up their 2010 season with award banquets last week, taking pride in their successes and looking ahead for greater achievements.

A visibly more upbeat Norbert Baharally addressed his players and the guests on Thursday, Dec. 9 with the confidence of having turned around the team from a 2009 season with no wins to playing the provincial Northern Division final this year.

“This year we learned how to win,” said Baharally.

“Last year we also had a talented team but we could not figure out how to win. This year, we believed we could win and we did win.”

Baharally stressed that it was difficult to award individual players in a team sport like football and called on his award winning players not to forget that they owed their recognition to the efforts of all the other players, as well.

Baharally expressed the hope that, with many talented young players returning next year and with a new line of players joining from the bantam Cougars, Wildcats would have bright season in 2011 as well.

Then the award winners were presented with their plaques by coaches.

The honor roll of the 2010 Wildcats football team is as follows:

Most Valuable Player – Landon Potter

Best Back – Braden Nelson

Rookies Of The Year – Morgan Loshny / Riley Anderson / Ty Page

Most Improved Player – Drew Hunt

Captain’s Award – Jared Steinwand

Most Versatile Player – Cory Fisher

Best Lineman – Randy Schofer

Player contributing the most with the east recognition – Mike Donahue

Most Dedicated Offensive Player – Dustin Dayman

Most Dedicated Defensive Player – Anton Stewart


Major League Award Winners

Landon Potter – Running Back

Braden Nelson – Rookie of the Year

Dustin Dayman – Quarterback

Randy Schofer– Lineman of the Year

Anton Stewart- Linebacker

Riley Anderson – Offensive Line

Jared Steinwand – Full Back

Cory Fisher – Linebacker

Michael Donahue – Offensive Line

Morgan Loshny – Defensive Back

Players who were given Wildcat Pride awards were Cory O’Donoghue, Dylan Pearson, Theren Churchill and Cody Shepherd.

Earlier, on Tuesday, Dec.7, the Stettler Cougars concluded their 2010 season with a banquet and awards pesentations.

“This season marked the ninth year for the Cougars,” said head coach Mike Roach.

“It was a tough regular season for the boys, but they rallied late in the season and were crowned the Tier III Champions for the Central Football League and moved on to provincials.”

This was the second straight season that the Cougars have qualified for provincial play.

The Cougars also picked up the Players Choice Sportsmanship Award at the league All Star Banquet.

“This award had never been won by the Cougars before, so it was quite an honor to win it,” said Roach.

Stephen Zuk and Nicholas Baharally were the Cougar All Stars this year.

Follows the Cougars honor roll for the 2010 season:

Timex Award-Thomas Cassidy

Offensive rookie-Patrick Kneeland

Defensive rookie-Trent Sanders

Contributed the most with least recognition-Christian Young

Captain’s award-Matt Kirk

Best lineman-Brandon Rowland

Most dedicated-Morgan Dayman

Most improved player-Josh Weeteringen

Most versatile-Jordan McCallum

Outstanding offensive -Austin Peterson

Outstanding defensive- Ryan Gerl

Dean Nemetz Memorial Award-Ryan Coleman

Defensive backs- Garrett Burns, Micheal Loblaw

Best back-Stephen Zuk

Most valuable player – Nicholas Baharally

Just Posted

Alberta Finance Minister says equalization program not working

Equalization formula fails Alberta again, says UCP

Stettler Board of Trade asks, gets $34,000 budget increase from town

Museum gets same funding as previous year, didn’t ask for increase

Donalda’s Curtis Cassidy win’s $26,230 at NFR

Big Valley’s Zeke Thurston bucked off

World Champion Saddle Bronc rider, Zeke Thurston of Big Valley consistent at NFR

Donalda’s Curtis Cassidy third overall and wins $15,653

Local cowboys Zeke Thurston and Curtis Cassidy have solid night at NFR

Big Valley’s Thurston has wild ride. Donalda’s Cassidy ranked number one steer wrestler in world

Girl opens Christmas present she gave to boy when she dumped him in 1971

Adrian Pearce, now a married father of two, received the small present from his highschool sweetheart

Liberal Party moves Trudeau fundraiser from military base

The fundraiser is scheduled for Dec. 19, with tickets costing up to $400

Federal government plans examination of coerced sterilization

The Liberals have been pressed for a rapid response to recent reports on the sterilizations

Huitema, Cornelius named 2018 Canadian Youth International Players of the Year

Huitema was captain of Canada’s fourth-place team at this year’s FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup

Canada not slowing emissions from oil and gas: environmental groups

New report released at the United Nations climate talks in Poland

Goodale to ‘examine’ transfer of Rafferty to medium-security prison

Michael Rafferty was sentenced to life in prison in 2012 in the kidnapping, sexual assault and first-degree murder of Tori Stafford

Minister appoints former CIRB chair to resolve Canada Post labour dispute

Postal workers engaged in weeks of rotating walkouts

Omar Khadr to ask for Canadian passport to travel, permission to speak to sister

He spent years in U.S. detention at Guantanamo Bay after he was caught when he was 15

Missing B.C. man might be headed to Alberta

Jeremy Bauer, 40, was last seen on Dec. 6

Most Read