First major curling tournament won by Red Deer team


This year’s Oilmen’s Spiel of Stettler Curling Club was won by Formation Fluids of Red Deer in an eight-end game on Sunday, Nov. 14.

The winning team with skip Rob Armitage, third Al Radford, second Marv Trimble and lead Chance Radford defeated Geo Adams Trucking 7-5 in the final to claim the A event title .

In the B event of the tournament, the local Strad team with skip Ralph Kamlah, third Danny Brown, second Luke Mailer and lead John Ebeling won 7-3 against the Transcend Safety team in the final to be declared the B event champions.

Doug’s Tank Truck were beaten by TKS in the C event final in a game which the winning side, with skip Terry Annebel, third Steve McCrindle, second Rick Tizzaro and lead Glenn Kobi did not face any serious challenge, ending the game 7-1.

Stettler Curling Club’s next tournament, Yuletide Bonspiel is scheduled for Monday, Dec. 27.

Just Posted

Man charged with break and enter to Stettler County residence

Stettler RCMP arrested 30-year-old Kyle Grams of Stettler

Magnetos Car Club ready to shine at annual car show and cruise

For the 19th year in a row, featured cars will line Main Street on June 8th

Music in the Park kicks off in June

In just a few short weeks, great tunes will be heard in West Stettler Park

Ellis Bird Farm opens 2019 with book unveil of Charlie, Winnie and the Bluebirds

Site Manager Myrna Pearman documented the history of central Alberta’s natural treasure

Popular downtown initiative bolsters Stettler Food Bank donations

Wells Furniture and Brenda’s Cozy Cafe are gearing up for the third annual Food Bank Drive May 29th, 30th and 31st

Killer of Calgary mother, daughter gets no parole for 50 years

A jury found Edward Downey guilty last year in the deaths of Sara Baillie, 34, and five-year-old Taliyah Marsman

Pipeline protester chimes in on Justin Trudeau’s B.C. fundraising speech

The government purchased the Trans Mountain pipeline and expansion project for $4.5 billion

Canada stripping citizenship from Chinese man over alleged marriage fraud

The move comes amid severely strained relations between Ottawa and Beijing

Mayor says northern Alberta town still under threat from nearby wildfire

The blaze has now eaten its way through about 920 square kilometres of forest

Ottawa spending $24.5M to research health benefits, risks of pot use

$390,000 will fund two cannabis public awareness

Crackdown on money laundering does not include federal public inquiry: minister

An independent report commissioned concluded $7.4 billion was laundered in B.C. last year

Trudeau’s action plan on climate change brings B.C. politician out of retirement

Terry Lake, a former B.C. health minister, is running for federal office in Kamloops-Thompson-Cariboo

Survey finds minimal progress in Canadian military’s fight against sexual misconduct

1.6 per cent of regular-force members — 900 military personnel — reported having been victims of sexual assaults over past year

Body of missing snowmobiler recovered from Great Slave Lake

Police confirm the body is that of one of three missing snowmobilers

Most Read