Stettler votes – meet your town and county candidates

Residents head to the polls Oct. 18

With the municipal election set for Oct. 18, here is a chance for local residents to learn a bit more about both town and county candidates.

Click here for more information – https://www.stettlerindependent.com/tag/stettler-votes/

In Stettler, Sean Nolls has been acclaimed as mayor.

For council, candidates include Kurt Baker, Cheryl Barros (incumbent), Gord Lawlor (incumbent), Jim Lynham, Scott Pfeiffer (incumbent), Travis Randell and Wayne Smith (incumbent).

The Town of Stettler candidate forum is set for Sept. 27, and will be hosted virtually by the Stettler Public Library and Stettler Regional Board of Trade. Advance voting for Town council runs Oct. 12-15 from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m. at the Town of Stettler office.

On election day, folks can cast their ballots from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. at the Stettler Community Hall.

Meanwhile, the County of Stettler will see elections in five wards.

Councillors were acclaimed in two of the wards – Paul McKay in Donalda-Red Willow and Les Stulberg in Byemoor-Endiang.

The wards with elections are as follows:

– Ward 2: Big Valley – Dave Grover (incumbent), Lance Neilson, Terry Schiffner and Dustan Wawzkiewicz.

– Ward 3: Botha-Gadsby – Dianne Baird and Larry Clarke (incumbent)

– Ward 4: Erskine South-Warden – Earl Marshall and James Nibourg (incumbent)

– Ward 5: Stettler – Ernie Gendre (incumbent), Sarina Gosse, Wanda Niehaus and Jeremy Verhoeven.

– Ward 6: Erskine-Buffalo Lake – Cheri Neitz (incumbent) and Justin Stevens.

County polls will be open Oct. 18 from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. in all wards as there is also a referendum and senate election being held at each ward as well this year.

A list of polling station locations will be available on the County web site at www.stettlercounty.ca.

Voters can vote in the advance polls on Oct. 14 or Oct. 15 from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. Voters can also request a mail-in ballot by calling or e-mailing the returning officer, Doreen Nixon, and requesting a special ballot.

Local residents can also hear from the candidates on Oct. 6 during a candidates’ forum. Set to start at 7 p.m., the forum will be co-hosted by the Stettler Regional Board of Trade and the Stettler Public Library.

Questions must be submitted before the event to Stettler Board of Trade, and the Forum will be held at The Hub in the Stettler Recreation Centre.

Meanwhile, all six of the wards in Clearview Public Schools for the seven trustee positions have been acclaimed.

“I’m very proud of the work done by our board over the past four years, and looking forward to having this strength continue with a slight change. Trustee Ken Checkel, who has held many positions in the board over his 23 years as a trustee, including as board chair, is retiring,” said Guy Neitz, board chair.

“So we are welcoming and excited to meet a new trustee to the board this year: Shauna-lee Thomas. Congratulations to all our trustees, and we wish Ken all the best.”

The organizational meeting to officially affirm the nominated trustees is scheduled to be held Oct. 6.

The candidates, again all in by acclamation, are as follows:

– Ward 1 Erskine, Erskine North area, and Donalda & area – Guy Neitz (incumbent)

– Ward 2 Big Valley and area, as well as Erskine South area – Kimberley Smyth (incumbent)

– Ward 3 Town of Stettler – Greg Hayden (incumbent) and Becky Scott (incumbent)

– Ward 4 Botha, Gadsby, Byemoor and areas, as well as Halkirk and Halkirk West area – John Schofer (incumbent)

– Ward 5 Castor and area, as well as Halkirk East area – Erika Grice (incumbent)

– Ward 6 Coronation, Brownfield and areas – Shauna-lee Thomas