Skip to content

Stettler’s Wm. E Hay Secondary holds awards night in October

Stettler’s Wm. E. Hay Secondary Campus celebrated junior high school students on Oct. 12.

Stettler’s Wm. E. Hay Secondary Campus celebrated junior high school students on Oct. 12.

The annual awards night brought students together to celebrate the highlights of the 2021-2022 school year.

First up was the academic honours recipients from Grade 7. Honoured were Ethan Breker, Jack Hayden, Claire Holliday, Trip Hunt, Megan Kirby, Blake Neilson, Rebecca Neumann, Dalin Nixon, Hadley Prehn, Olivia Smith, Joy Tawadrous and Lauren van Ringen

Grade 8 honourees were Kalon Babchuk, Joshua Barnett, Mackenzie Bates, Tayla Bradford, Kylar Cornelssen, Kadence Fisher, Faith Foesier, Summer Greiner, Claire Hoopfer, Kallia Maki, James Morris, Madelaine Norman, Griffin Prehn, Eboni Rosin, Claire Satre, Teigan Sisco, Mayah Smyth, Rowan Snodgrass, Addison Stewart, Brooklynn Stewart, Zachary Wengryn and Hayden Wiebe.

Grade 9 academic honourees were Amy Aicken, Seth Baird, Jenny Bohn, Nathan Deaver, Liam Dechaine, Katie Eggleston, Rigel Fox, Madison Girard, Amy Kirby, Logan Klapak, Sarah MacPherson, Beretta Miller, Stesha Missikewitz, Elizabeth Morton, Jenna Neilson, Jayden Olafson, Maryah Pineda, Mya Prehn, August Roenspies, Megan Schrijver, Piper Simpson, Kierra Smith and Sadie Speakman.

The next awards presented were the Personal Growth Awards, given to Cody Waugh, Jenna Fryer and Dillon Latham.

The Kinsmen Cystic Fibrosis Award was presented to Mayah Smyth.

Next up was the Larry Ambury Jump Start Fund educational bursary, which was presented to Shelby Lang.

Citizenship awards for Grades 7 and 8 came next, with Jordan Klaus and Mark Manalili receiving the award for Grade 7 and Claire Hoopfer and Griffen Prehn receiving the award for Grade 8.

The Mailer Memorial Award was presented to Amy Aicken and Nathan Deaver, followed by the Kira Richardson Legacy Award which was presented to August Roenspies.

Clearview’s ATA Tearchers’ Awards for all grades, sponsored by Superfluity, the Elks, TD Bank, Ol’ MacDonald’s Resort, Brandt and Wm. E Hay Secondary, were presented to Joy Tawadrous, Rebecca Neumann, Hadley Prehn and Lauren van Ringen for Grade 7, Kallia Maki, Madelaine Norman, Addison Stewart, Kalon Babchuk and Griffen Prehn for Grade 8, and Amy Kirby, Mya Prehn, Beretta Miller, Rigel Fox, Jayden Olafson and Sarah MacPhereson for Grade 9.

Finally, the Stewart Family Excellence Awards for all grades were presented. Hadley Prehen received the award for Grade 7, Addison Stewart received the award for Grade 8, and Mya Prehn received the award for Grade 9.

Kevin Sabo

About the Author: Kevin Sabo

I’m Kevin Sabo. I’ve been a resident of the Castor area for the last 12 years and counting, first coming out here in my previous career as an EMT.
Read more