Elks’ fundraiser dinner promises a lot

The Elks' January meeting included an update on their Yuk Yuks Comedy Entertainment fundraiser for Feb. 27 at the Big Valley Jubilee Hall.

BIG VALLEY BULLETIN — The Elks’ January meeting included an update on their Yuk Yuks Comedy Entertainment fundraiser slated for Saturday, Feb. 27 at the Big Valley Jubilee Hall. Three performers are lined up for the evening. The Royal Purple Ladies report the menu includes roast beef and chicken Cordon Bleu with trimmings and desserts. They hope to offer a midnight snack, as well. This should be a great outing to beat the winter doldrums.

The Elks hope to continue bringing special events such as this to Big Valley, so your support is vital. Contact Quinton Baird 403-741-8517, Allen Jacobson 403-876-2775, Larry Meyer 403-876-2382 or Lorne Parkin 403-876-2097.

Upcoming events to remember include the Provincial Chair visit to Hanna on Tuesday, Feb. 23 and the Oyster Feed and Past Exalted Ruler Night in Big Valley on Tuesday, March 22. Hanna is also hosting the Provincial Conference on June 8-11.

The club draw was won by Vern Thurow, the District Deputy from Hanna. Club 200 winners were Art Grenville, Ryan Rivett, Terry Peterson and Pat Hat.

Twenty players came out for crib at the Big Valley Inn Sunday, Jan. 31. Dianne Houghton took first place, Lawrence Wilkie took second place and Doug Harrold took third place. Gloria Emblau went home with the booby and Mary Wilkie won the draw. The Big Valley Inn crib players look forward to seeing everyone out again next Sunday, Feb. 7 at 1 p.m.

Big Valley Drop-in Centre’s next community pancake supper is scheduled for Monday, Feb. 8 beginning at 5:30 p.m. The potluck and meeting will be on Feb. 18 beginning at 12 noon. Drop-in crib takes place every Sunday afternoon at 1:30 p.m. Cards are scheduled for Monday and Friday evenings at 7 p.m. and floor curling takes place every Friday afternoon at 1:30 p.m.

Happy birthday wishes for February go out to Bruce Cartier – 1, Tim Skocdopole – 1, Len Shaw – 2, Jan Boice – 3, Mikhyla Daychief – 5, Rebecca Johnston – 5, Colleen Shaw – 8, Gloria Saar – 8, Geneva Balcom – 9, David Webster – 10, Tammy Webster – 10, Chuck Houston – 11, Terry Annable – 11, Marion Annable – 12, Merrick Saar – 12, Jean Ross – 14, Murray Stewart – 14, Les McBride – 14, Anthony Daychief – 16, Keith VanHaga – 17, Sharon Duncan – 18, Caroline Anderson – 19, Shawn Nyuli – 19, Marie Brenchley – 20, Ryan Annable – 20, Andy Damen – 22, Kennedy Gridley – 24, Ryland Stefanik – 28. Happy anniversary to Allan and Nora Saar – 8.