Curling champions crowned

BIG VALLEY BULLETIN -- The Big Valley curling rink was a busy place over the Easter weekend for the annual men's bonspiel.

BIG VALLEY BULLETIN — The Big Valley curling rink was a busy place over the Easter weekend for the annual men’s bonspiel. These are the results: In the “A” event: first-Danny Brown (Erskine), second-Dale Brown (Elnora), third-Chad Sorensen (Big Valley) and fourth-Dan McArthur (Huxley). In the “B” event: first-Richie Chapman (Erskine), second-Chris Laisnez (Big Valley), third-Jamie Muhlbach (Big Valley) and fourth-Al Hampton (Rumsey). In the “C” event: first-John Schofer (Byemoor), second-Terry Annable (Big Valley), third-Dave Webster (Big Valley) and fourth-Neil Boles (Three Hills).

The Dave Webster rink was declared champion of the Friday night league. Thanks to all sponsors, curlers and everyone else who came out to support the club this year.

Eighteen players came out for crib at the Big Valley Inn on Sunday, April 3. Dorothy Annable took first place, Stan Nattestad took second and Gladys McLeod took third. Vi McCarty took home the booby and Stan Nattestad won the draw. See you all next Sunday at 1 p.m.

At the Big Valley Drop-in Centre, the next community pancake supper will be on Monday, April 18 beginning at 5:30 p.m. Everyone is welcome. The potluck and meeting is on April 21 at 12 noon. Don’t forget, Monday and Friday night cards begin at 7 p.m., Sunday crib is at 1:30 p.m. and Friday afternoon floor curling is at 1:30 p.m.

The Big Valley School junior high battery drive began on April 4 and will run through to April 20. Funds raised will help support their upcoming SEVEC trip. Batteries can be dropped off at the school on weekdays between 9 a.m. and 2:30 p.m. or you can call the school at 403-876-2271 to arrange a time for pick up. The students thank you for your support.

April birthday greetings go out to Rowan Laisnez – 1, Robbie Guptill – 1, Brayden Daychief – 1, Debra Johnston – 2, Leslie Enns – 2, Barb Laisnez – 3, Amanda Baird – 5, Abraham Clark – 6, Terry Visser – 8, Ben Penner – 8, Alearra Daychief – 10, Russell Watts – 11, Lonnie Hallett – 11, Mackenzie Schell – 12, Edna Sugden – 13, Garrit Visser – 13, Marjorie Olive Sr. – 16, Chad Sorensen – 17, Matt Elines – 17, Cindy Mailer – 19, Ron Kilpatrick – 20, and Dina Clark – 30.

Happy anniversary to Andy & Karen Dayman – 1, Bennett & Carolyn Anderson – 13, Brent & Cheryl Bartley – 18, Don & Joy Walker -19, Scott & Sandra Schell – 24, and Les & Ann Mulbach – 29.