Skip to content

Big Valley to have new sign celebrating Zeke Thurston’s 2016 NFR success

BIG VALLEY BULLETIN -- At December's Big Valley Council meeting, Dustin Edwards approached council for permission to put up signs at the...

BIG VALLEY BULLETIN -- At December's Big Valley Council meeting, Dustin Edwards approached council for permission to put up signs at the north and south entrances to the Village proclaiming Big Valley as Home of PRCA 2016 World Champion Saddlebronc Rider, Zeke Thurston. Unanimously in favour, council has directed staff to work with Dustin on placement of the signs. We can't wait to see the results. Congratulations Zeke, what an amazing accomplishment.

The Big Valley Elks December meeting was their annual pot luck smorg and pin night. Elks members receiving pins were – Bob Nelson for 55 years, Larry Anderson for 50 years, Ken McFarlan for 25 years, and Bob Boswell for five years. Congratulations to them all for their dedication and years of service. Brother Nelson conducted the meeting that followed. Chris Rowland won the club draw and donated his share to the Children's Fund.

The Elks annual turkey bingos were a great success. There were 68 people attending in Rumsey and Big Valley reported the best attendance that anyone could remember with 100 attending. There were people from Red Willow, Red Deer, Calgary, Innisfail, Delburne and more than likely other locations that were not recorded. Many people, who support the Elks each year, win or lose, were out in full force. The Elks would like to thank everyone for their continued support. A new caller was "indoctrinated" for the two bingos and other than a couple of glitches and some good natured heckling, Chris Rowland did quite well for a novice caller and also not being a bingo player. Chris and other young members are fitting in to the organization quite well.

Club 200 winners for November were – Gordon and Anita Dick, Norm Silverstein, Sue Boswell and Riley Baird. December winners were – Cheryl Elines, Henry Hennel, Kim Helmer and Ross Temple for $100.

January birthday greetings go out to Takaleah Daychief – 1, Ross Annable – 1, Nicole Zoller – 1, Tom Fraser – 3, Marj Olive-Kilpatrick – 5, Lawrence Wilkie – 6, Art Tizzard – 8, Ariane Jensen – 8, Danny Webster – 11, Owen Jake Stewart – 11, Marguarite Kerbes – 12, Mike Noon-Ward – 12, Indianna Soboleski – 13, Don Saar – 15, Rod Miller – 17, Bill Kirtley Jr. – 17, Keelan Stefanik – 17, Reece Stefanik – 17, Thomas Cassidy Jr. – 17, Micah Toews – 19, Curt Watts – 22, Marian Rinehart – 25, John Bolton – 26, Chad Kirtley – 27, Chase Skocdopole – 28, Austin Daychief – 28, Brady Duncan – 28, Ann Tizzard – 30, Devon Boulding – 31, Aaron Stewart – 31, and Adam Stewart – 31.