Achievement nights recognized great strides

This week, in sports, Colour Night on June 9 was a huge success, celebrating the achievements of the Wm. E. Hay athletes.

This week, in sports, Colour Night on June 9 was a huge success, celebrating the achievements of the Wm. E. Hay athletes. The Grade 9 athletic awards went to Johannes Bower, Shayna Brower, and Kayla Myshaniuk. The Block S awards went to Brooke Clark, Morgan Van Dusen, Christian Young, Kyle Poapst, and Alden Mueller.

In archery, the Most Improved was Will Roberts, and the Most Dedicated was Jessa Heatherington.

In cross country, the three Most Dedicated recipients were Zach Desrosiers, Alyssa Henderson, and Reesa Garez. Ryland Stefanik, Casey Wright, Alyssa Henderson, Logan Fosier-Sandberg, John Langford, Allyssa Acera, Adam Pitzel, and Eric Pitzel, Erik Rost, Shayna Brower, and Adam Shirley took home badminton awards. In volleyball, the recipients were Ally Hamelin, Ashley Sukkau, Alyssa Henderson, Judah Auton, Sheldon Bridge, Mackenzie Brennan, Morgan Van Dusen, Katie Monaghan, Emily Wright, Kyle Poapst, Tom Gustavson, Jordan Lee, Sydney Poapst, Shayna Brower, Sadie Diegel, Kayla Myshaniuk, Megan Kobi, Keegan St. Denis, Casey Wright, Mitchell Gudgeon, Dacia Gramlick, Tim Gardner, and Will Hall. The track and field recipients were Will Hall, Jens Lohmann, and Dacia Gramlick.

The Dana Roberts Memorial Award went to Will Hall, the Provincial Recognition

Award for badminton went to John Langford, the Academic Team award went to

the Jr. Girls Basketball team, the Sally Bishop female award went to Dacia

Gramlick and Morgan Van Dusen, the Bob Stewart Male Athlete award went to

Stefan DuToit, the Lifetime Activity Pass went to Dawn McKay, and the

Larry Wilson Founders award went to Jon Campbell. Congratulations to all

the athletes!

In Fine Arts, the gala was hosted on June 10, and went very well, including performances from the band and the improv team. The drama awards went to Avery Marko, Reiley Thomas, Hannah McKay, Kalie Tulan, Schubert Hernando, Taylor Marko, Erin Yaremcio, and David O’Donnell. The comm tech awards went to Rachelle Vogel, Hunter Paulson, Mark Bengert, Jordan Lee, Taylor Marko, David O’Donnell, and Maverick Wilford. The art awards went to Xavier Moreno, Meggan Schultz, Abby Spencer, Brianna Webb, and Keirsten Docherty. The band awards went to Harmen Coenen, Meggan Shultz, Todd Yaremcio, and Keirsten Docherty. The dance awards went to Grace Wu, Jessa Heatherington, Kianna Cottam, and David O’Donnell. The digital photography awards went to Kalie Tulan and Brianna Webb. The cosmo awards went to Mikayla Torgerson, Junae Ventnor, Sarah Tschritter, and Caela Henderson. Finally, the Andrew Nibourg Memorial Award went to Cassidy Munholland. On Friday, the Students’ Union hosted a BBQ and a fun day, including Jousting and Zorb Balls. It was a

great day with lots of fun to be had, thank you to the Students’ Union.

Also on Friday, the Be The Change Hair Drive was wildly successful. Thank

you to everyone who donated and participated. That’s all for this week!

Just Posted

Castor Minor Sports is hosting a ‘Battle of Alberta’ NHL Alumni game on March 29th, 2020

Eleven community members per team will skate side by side with NHL veterans

Stettler Elementary School Show Choir off to a strong start this fall

The only requirement is that students are willing to try their best and co-operate

Geordie Nelson signs on as the local federal Green candidate

Canadians head to the polls on Oct. 21st

Sylvan Lake man charged with wife’s murder

Satnam Singh Sandhu, 41, will appear in Red Deer Provincial Court on Sept. 18

New fall festival set to take place mid-October

Family fun Oct. 12th at Stettler Ag grounds

VIDEO: Trudeau asks Canada to look to current, not past, actions on race

Liberal leader says he never spoke about the racist photo because he was embarrassed

Judge finds Alberta couple not guilty in toddler son’s death

It was the second trial for the Stephans, who were found guilty by a jury in 2016

Alberta couple charged in toddler son’s death to learn fate from judge

David and Collet Stephan are charged with failing to provide the necessaries of life

Alberta government pitching that small rural areas pay for policing: NDP

Those 291 districts represent about 20 per cent of the Alberta population

Alberta inquiry into oil and gas foes could face legal challenge from Ecojustice

Alberta Premier Jason Kenney has repeatedly accused U.S. charities of bankrolling efforts

Yearbook photo surfaces of Trudeau wearing ‘brownface’ costume in 2001

The report describes the occasion as an ‘Arabian Nights’-themed gala event

‘Troubling, insulting’: NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh reacts to Trudeau’s brownface photo

Jagmeet Singh, leader of the New Democrats, responded with a call for love after Trudeau photos surface

VIDEO: Party leaders react to Trudeau’s brownface photo bombshell

Fallout from Justin Trudeau’s brownface photo, and two other instances, sure to dominate campaign

Most Read