Voters go to polls on Monday

Voters head to the polls this Monday in the Town of Stettler, County of Stettler, Donalda, Botha and Gadsby — and elsewhere in the province

ELECTION SIGNS VANDALIZED — Vandals hit the campaign trail on the weekend

Voters head to the polls this Monday in the Town of Stettler, County of Stettler, Donalda, Botha and Gadsby — and elsewhere in the province — to elect councils for new four-year terms.

With polls open from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m., electors can cast ballots at defined stations.

For the Town of Stettler, polls will be located at Stettler Community Hall to elect six councillors.

Among the challengers, Will Brown, Zachary Jackson, Sean Nolls, Karen Sernecky, James (Jim) Smith and Wayne Tebbe seek to unseat incumbents Darcy Bachman, Al Campbell, Malcolm Fischer, Peter Simons and Steven Wildeboer.

Both acclaimed to their respective leadership positions, the town mayor and county reeve urge voters to get to the polls.

“We have 11 candidates offering their services to help the town and we owe it to those people to understand what they stand for and to help choose the next council,” said Stettler Mayor Dick Richards, who has served as mayor for four years.

Richards also noted that many people in countries throughout the world don’t have the same democratic right that Canadians fought hard for in wars.

For voters in the county, the message is similar.

“I urge voters to make sure they know the facts about any issues that may be brought up,” said Reeve Wayne Nixon, who was acclaimed in Red Willow–Donalda.

“Discount rumours, research the facts and vote for the person that you think will best represent the best interests of ratepayers in the county.”

County vote in five wards

County of Stettler voters in five of the seven wards cast votes, with the county office accepting ballots in all wards. Specifically, electors will vote in:

— Byemoor-Endiang at Byemoor Community Hall, as incumbent Lawrence Wilkie faces former councillor Les Stulberg and John Schofer, who is also seeking to return to Clearview School Division.

— Big Valley at Big Valley Jubilee Hall, where incumbent Terry Schiffner is challenged by Dave Grover, who was unseated in the last election.

— Botha-Gadsby at Gadsby Community Hall, with incumbent Greggory Jackson and former reeve Vic Carey on the ballot.

— Stettler ward at the county office, with incumbent Blake Chapman challenged by Ernie Gendre.

— Erskine-Buffalo Lake at Erskine IOOF Hall, as incumbent Joe Gendre again faces a challenge from Guy Neitz.

Donalda: four seeking three seats

Electors in Donalda will have four names on the ballot to choose three councillors with Mayor Bruce Gartside and incumbent Dan Knudtson joined by Shane Fox and D. Paul McKay.

Botha: four names on ballot

Three seats are being contested by four candidates, Fay Betts, Flo Iskiw, Ken Hoekstra and Jim Renschler.

Gadsby candidates announced

For three seats on Gadsby council, Brian Burks, Kim Cooper, Fred Entwisle and Laura Kelly-Stevenson are in the running.


Weekly delivery plus unlimited digital access for $50.40 for 52 issues (must live within 95 kilometers of Stettler) Unlimited Digital Access for one year for $50.40 Prefer to have us call you? Click here and we’ll get back to you within one business day.