Six challengers bid for town council seats

While the incumbent, Dick Richards, has been acclaimed as Stettler’s mayor, six challengers face five incumbent councillors ...

While the incumbent, Dick Richards, has been acclaimed as Stettler’s mayor, six challengers face five incumbent councillors in the bid to serve on town council.

Nominations closed Monday for the Oct. 21 vote.

Will Brown and Wayne Tebbe are seeking council seats after falling short in the last election three years ago.

Zachary Jackson, Sean Nolls, Karen Sernecky and James Smith are the newcomers on the ballot.

They will face incumbent councillors Malcolm Fischer, who topped the polls last time, Darcy Bachman, Al Campbell and Steve Wildeboer, while Peter Simons will again seek seats on town council and school trustee for the Clearview School Division in the Stettler ward.

Brown, the pastor of Stettler Community Church, lost to Richards for the mayoral chair by a slim margin (689-662) in the previous municipal election.

Tebbe finished ninth out of 11 candidates for councillor last time around.

County reeve victorious

For seven councillors in the County of Stettler, two wards were uncontested, while 11 people are vying for five seats.

County reeve Wayne Nixon was acclaimed in Donalda–Red Willow (Ward 7). James Nibourg returns unchallenged in Erskine South–Warden (Ward 5).

Byemoor-Endiang has a three-way race as Lawrence Wilkie faces former councillor Les Stulberg, who lost 119-118 in the last election, and John Schofer, who also seeks to return as a Clearview School Division trustee after losing three years ago.

Former reeve Vic Carey wants to make a comeback when he challenges Greggory Jackson in Botha-Gadsby (Ward 3).

Three other wards have two-way battles.

Former councillor Dave Grover is set to return to Big Valley (Ward 2) to face Terry Schiffner, who edged Grover 86-82 in the last election.

Two brothers are seeking seats in two areas.

Joe Gendre is looking to secure his seat in Erskine –Buffalo Lake (Ward 6) against Guy Nietz, who lost to Gendre 134-129 in the last battle.

Ernie Gendre has challenged Blake Chapman in the Stettler ward (4).

Halkirk councillors all set to return

Residents in Halkirk won’t need to go the polls, after all three seats were acclaimed. The winners are longtime mayor Dale Kent, Coun. Sherry Jamieson and newcomer Matthew Koenraadt.

Mayors in the villages are selected by council.

Big Valley stands pat

Voters in Big Valley won’t go to the polls, either, as incumbents Gail Knudtson and Lois Miller and newcomer Ken Johnson have filled the three council seats.

Donalda race is on

Electors in Donalda will have four names on the ballot to choose three councillors, with Mayor Bruce Gartside and incumbent Dan Knudtson joined by Shane Fox and D. Paul McKay.

Botha has four names on ballot

Three seats are being contested by four candidates — Fay Betts, Flo Iskiw, Ken Hoekstra and Jim Renschler.

Gadsby candidates ready to go

For three seats on Gadsby council, Brian Burks, Kim Cooper, Fred Entwisle and Laura Kelly-Stevenson are in the running.

No election in plans for County of Paintearth

All seven incumbents in the County of Paintearth have been acclaimed.

“We will have no elections,” said Tarolyn Peach, the county’s chief administrative officer.

New to council, Doreen Blumhagen becomes the second woman on board, representing Halkirk after incumbent Tony Nibourg decided to bow out.

She joins current councillors Walter Weber in Castor, Rocky Dahmer in Halkirk, Brian Bunbury in Federal, Tyrill Hewitt in Bulwark, Reeve George Glazier in Coronation and Diane Elliott in Brownfield.

Mayoralty race in line for Castor

Longtime Castor mayor Gary DeVloo is being challenged by Catherine Wylie, while seven candidates are seeking six councillor seats.

Ballot newcomers Cody Borek, Richard Elhard, Tony Nichols, Travis Ryan and Lonny Nelner challenge incumbents Brenda Wismer and Rod Zinger.

Bashaw in limbo

Bashaw Mayor Penny Shantz was acclaimed, while incumbent Bryan Gust was the only person to file for one of four councillor seats. The nomination term has been extended.

“We will keep it open,” said Bashaw returning officer Loretta Paget.

Camrose County reports opening

Camrose County council reported that the local seat remained unclaimed for Bashaw, Meeting Creek and north (Division 1).

Alix set for challenge

With the mayor elected by council, Alix has six candidates seeking five seats, as newcomers Vicki Soltermann, Jody Louise Widmann and Arlene E. Nelson challenge incumbents Curtis Irving Peterson, Robert Fehr and Gordon Christensen.

Clive returns five

All five seats on Clive council have been acclaimed, as newcomers Marvin Wieler have joined incumbents Anita Tillard, Daniel Graden, Luci Henry and Beverly Krochak.

Delburne welcomes same slate

All five seats on Village of Delburne council were filled by acclamation, with Amy Beard, Darlene Dushanek, Judith Hogan,  Tim Wilson and Mayor Ray Reckseidler back in office.


Weekly delivery plus unlimited digital access for $50.40 for 52 issues (must live within 95 kilometers of Stettler) Unlimited Digital Access for one year for $50.40 Prefer to have us call you? Click here and we’ll get back to you within one business day.